Welcome Log OutHome |About Us

+61 3 9434 7640

University Prizes

In 2014, the ANZCA Board of Directors took steps to expand our organisation's encouragement of developing musicians through the establishment of music prizes in conjunction with prominent tertiary institutions.

While the development and expansion of this programme continues, ANZCA is proud to be involved currently with the following music prizes.

ANZCA Composition Prize at the ANU School of Music is offered to undergraduate, Honours or Masters students for best composition, as assessed by a panel chaired by the Head of School of Music. The recipient receives a cash prize and is invited to list their work in ANZCA’s syllabus.

The ANZCA Music Prize is offered for Best Composition by a Bachelor of Music student at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music at Monash University. This prize, which is adjudicated by members of the University's faculty, consists of a $1500 cash prize and promotion of the winning composition through inclusion in the relevant ANZCA syllabus.

We extend our congratulations to the 2016 winner of this prize Lily Tait (left), for her cello and piano composition Nikki, dedicated to cellist Nikki Edgar. According to Lily, this piece "explores the fragility of harmonic pressure contrasted with clear tone resonance".

In conjunction with the University of South Australia, ANZCA has established three annual music prizes to encourage students studying for the Bachelor of Arts (Performing Arts) degree. The three $500 prizes are offered for musical performance excellence: one each to students from years 1, 2 and 3 of the degree course.

The winners of these prizes for 2015 were: Level 1 – Nicole O'Rielley; Level 2 – Natasha Blakey; Level 3 – Hannah Nicholson.

Photos from the 2015 Monash University and University of South Australia awards ceremonies:

Level 1 winner Nicole O'Rielley with Board Director Maureen Grieve at UniSALevel 2 winner Natasha Blakey with Board Director Maureen Grieve at UniSALevel 3 winner Hannah Nicholson with Board Director Maureen Grieve at UniSAMonash Dean of Arts Professor Rae Frances with prize winner Natasha Trinkle and ANZCA General Manager Tony Betros